Anxiety – Expanding your Comfort Zone & Social Anxiety

Hey There!

So today was the second time i went to see my therapist for my stress and anxiety. If you’re new here then please read my previous posts from my ”Anxiety” tab.

So the lesson basically was about expanding your comfort zone. She described it as ”You have a meter, one end is extreme the middle is uncomfortable and the end is comfortable”. Currently i’m in the uncomfortable to extreme, yay me…


The best way to make that comfort zone expand slowly is to do things naturally. Don’t force yourself to breath slowly and hum for a certain amount of seconds, timing is something that drives anxiety and in the two exercises she’s given me she’s told me to do everything in my own speed.

She’s told me to do several things:

  • Ride my bike, for however long i want. She said for not to time myself or say how long i  must ride for, but do it naturally and for as long as i want. Basically, be a free spirit and go with the wind ❤
  • Go to the mall and wear sunglasses, this is for my social anxiety more so. She said to me, ”go to your local mall and sit outside and wear your sunnies, notice how people will glance at you and look at you, but not stare or care. It’s normal for people to look or glance and you’ll find that within this exercise. But what you’ll find, is not what your expecting, no-one will stare or look at you for more then 5 seconds”. If you are suffering from social anxiety, i personally think this exercise would be great ❤

She also said:

Eat something you don’t particularly like, eg for me it’s water with juice, (it just tastes so weird!). Gradually, add more and more water, you start off with a quarter of a cup and then move to half etc.  Over time your comfort zone will expand and you will slowly get use to the taste, this is your comfort zone expanding, this is your brain telling you that you can deal with it and you’re use to it. If you apply this to several other things it makes sense.

Example: School

You need to push yourself, tell yourself ”you are fine” ”you’ve got this” ”you’ve done this before” ”it’s achievable” and positive words. You’d be surprised how well this works. I’m going to apply this for when i’m at school and i’m feeling light headed. Keep pushing yourself to walk and continue to get through the day, if you/ I start to panic ask to take a walk or go to sickbay. I usually doodle small drawings or tap in time to a tempo and tell myself that theres not long till schools over and i can go back to my comfortable bed and computer. I also message my mum, and if i feel like i’m able to fall over and i’m seeing white or feel like i could be sick, i go to sickbay. Though this hasnt’ happened for probably 4-5 weeks, which is great!


That’s all i’ve got to tell you guys today, but, i hope it’s helped or even given you the confidence to try. ALSO, i decided i waned to do a Q&A on here so please ASK QUESTIONS BELOW ❤

Email me on caitlinmareebusiness@gmail.com if you need to talk

– Caitlin xo

2 thoughts on “Anxiety – Expanding your Comfort Zone & Social Anxiety

Leave a Reply

